If I Try

Hi.
Is it okay if I try?
I won’t impress, promise I
Just want to try
I’ll fall apart, might not make eye
Contact for long, but I just want to try.
Is it okay if I try?
Message me so private my
Reprobate mind doesn’t realize
I fell apart, public conversation rife
With hidden meaning, double talk like knives.
Find me crying by the garage, I tried.
I tried, I tried, I tried,
Is it okay if I try?
You have never seen me tell a lie.
You have never laughed me back to life.
You have not been half as close as I
To the mocker you unleashed tonight.
Is it
Okay
If
I
Try?
Promise I won’t impress you guys.
But is it okay if I try?

Delete the verse about my medication,
What’s the point? It’s just fodder for the crazies,
The livid, illucid, raving mad sorry cases,
If I can’t talk straight, why bother to present
Myself at all? Might as well stay in bed.
I keep putting violins into songs
And I see what that looks like.
Call whine-one-one, I hear the tiniest fiddle,
But that knife blade’s so dull, you might have to whittle.
I’m not sure we need this pit stop, so let’s skip the drivel.
I’m not here to fake my way, I needed help so badly.
But they left us in the cold, what could we do but rally?
Hungry band of misfit wanderers, waiting ’til we’re patient.
Is there less or more in store for steady misbehaviour?
Where’s the translation assistant? Maybe hearts are worth a bit more.
Maybe what’s inside is where
Jesus wants to help us care.
I am tired, but I dare
To pray to God instead of despair.

Hi.
Is it okay if I try?
I won’t impress, promise I
Just want to try
I’ll fall apart, might not make eye
Contact for long, but I just want to try.
Is it okay if I try?
Message me so private my
Reprobate mind doesn’t realize
I fell apart, public conversation rife
With hidden meaning, double talk like knives.
Find me crying by the garage, I tried.
I tried, I tried, I tried,
Is it okay if I try?
You have never seen me tell a lie.
You have never laughed me back to life.
You have not been half as close as I
To the mocker you unleashed tonight.
Is it
Okay
If
I
Try?
Promise I won’t impress you guys.
But is it okay if I try?

Can’t spend all our time
On yesterdays and lonely rhymes,
Like I am still afraid of dying.
Who would fear the mocker’s lying?
He’s gone mad with thoughts of maligning.
Messiah’s closer than mockery and sly hints.
He loves the center of our being.
Where we can’t stop ourselves from hearing
That Jesus loves the ones who love His nearness.
That He is God above and He will hold us if we fear Him.
No more crying there, He’s fearless.
No darkness in God, Jesus: Healer.
Loving Father showed his heart so clearly.
Jesus died on a cross so we could be free.
God is unrelenting merciful, forgave us on the tree.
Jesus forgave us on the tree.

Knockout.
That’s a knockout.
Somebody else doubt,
Because I’m just gonna shout,
Got rocked but I won’t talk,
“Knockout! Knockout!”
Shout out, knockout.

Hi.
Is it okay if I try?
I won’t impress, promise I
Just want to try
I’ll fall apart, might not make eye
Contact for long, but I just want to try.
Is it okay if I try?
Message me so private my
Reprobate mind doesn’t realize
I fell apart, public conversation rife
With hidden meaning, double talk like knives.
Find me crying by the garage, I tried.
I tried, I tried, I tried,
Is it okay if I try?
You have never seen me tell a lie.
You have never laughed me back to life.
You have not been half as close as I
To the mocker you unleashed tonight.
Is it
Okay
If
I
Try?
Promise I won’t impress you guys.
But is it okay if I try?

My thoughts don’t make sense,
But I know what I want from this.
Don’t need it straight to confess
That I’m a sinner and that I’m a mess.
It’s okay, don’t mind, Jesus is my best.
Oh and when I pass the test,
Peter walking on the water, giving it my best.
Don’t make it less.
This is all that we can bet.
What you believe is how you link
What you like into your living.
Yeah, we worship thoughts like ink.
Someone say the right thing
So I know just what to think.
But it’s a slippy ice rink
Adding water ’til we sink
Until we run into the rain
And Messiah takes the reins.
Heaven has no word for “pain.”

Leave a Reply

