What If

I’m not quick enough to freestyle,
So I adlibbed on this page,
And I think that I might record.
Freewritten poetry expresses all I face.
I expose what’s hidden in me so I don’t fear the night.
Sometimes, I make myself face the rage…

What if all they said about you was,
“He never lies,” and “Don’t gossip, he’s around?”
What if even when you’re gone,
They still talked like you have what they want?
What if nobody needed to be afraid
To tell you what they want instead of what you thought?

What if we could play “I spy”
Like Lil Kyle, just ignore the haters’play?
What if we could say “I tried”
And leave the rest to play out today?
What if yesterday
Is already smothered in grace?
What if tomorrow says
One thing, but gets filtered through what stays?
What if what you want is a lie you get to break?
What if all we thought about was the Way?
We could help the sad and the empty angry without fail.
We could lift the broken up from squandering their faith.

What if all they said about you was,
“He never lies,” and “Don’t gossip, he’s around?”
What if even when you’re gone,
They still talked like you have what they want?
What if nobody needed to be afraid
To tell you what they want instead of what you thought?

When I trip,
Like, every day,
When I ask my sin
“What do I do to stay?”
Do I fall like pins?
Drop a needle in a haystack,
Tell the warriors to listen.
If it’s not too loud. Lack
Quite severely, I’m on disability, but still,
I get to be thankful when Jesus wins me back.

What if all they said about you was,
“He never lies,” and “Don’t gossip, he’s around?”
What if even when you’re gone,
They still talked like you have what they want?
What if nobody needed to be afraid
To tell you what they want instead of what you thought?

Leave a Reply

