Narcissus

How about we take this one real slow?
I’m all out of pretenders’ hope,
There’s a quiet place where I give up all I own,
I found all I wanted when I asked God Who He was.
I’m repentant-minded, couldn’t do that without Help.

Without a whole new entire Life to hold,
I couldn’t get out of bed without my Lord.
Jesus took my trouble and He used it for Reward.
Did you know that mercy asks “What do you need?” In earnest?
Did you know that God forgives in a permanent tense?
What you did yesterday has zero bearing on what today says.
The past can stay behind because of God’s Existence.
Emmanuel means “God with us,” not ever against.
I have seen the tapping at the door become a lot more than a mess.
I have witnessed what becomes of man when he feeds lust.
I have understood that I can’t overcome this by myself.
It’s so hard to see when I’m clouded by my sin,
But I have seen what happens when I confess,

Call me Narcissus,
I’m terribly incredulous.
Mark my words,
The man approved his own worth.
Hand mirrors hurt
Your own self-import-ance,
Rob you of worth.
Offload your reputation onto a cell phone hearse,
Tell all your friends that you dream about the second verse.
But pointing fingers burst
Like malignancy inside, it’s insanity at work.

I told you everything and you called me out for pride.
I overloaded speakers with intensely written lines.
Max out the equalizer and blow the woofers​ mind,
I’m impending on this and they talk like I just whine.
Take a second consequence, keep minutes like a scribe,
Make sure that my notebook has a couple empty lines.
I want a computer so I can make beats fly.
Once I thought a soother of tobacco helped my mind.
I was wrong, I was wrong, my pride was over-sized,
But I’m not so embarrassed that I fail to take my time.
I know now what I have learned and I am feeling fine.
Is there a way for me to share without incurring crime?

Call me Narcissus,
I’m terribly incredulous.
Mark my words,
The man approved his own worth.
Hand mirrors hurt
Your own self-import-ance,
Rob you of worth.
Offload your reputation onto a cell phone hearse,
Tell all your friends that you dream about the second verse.
But pointing fingers burst
Like malignancy inside, it’s insanity at work.

Hypocrisy is not my identity,
I can struggle endlessly
And it’s still not alive in me.
I am desperate for peace,
But the less I take, the more I see.
Trees’ leaves all turned green
In less than a week,
It’s incredible to speak
And hear Jesus lead,
Let’s prioritize His mercy
Because then we’ll be so free.
Let’s imitate Him in everything
So our love shines like a breeze.

Call me Narcissus,
I’m terribly incredulous.
Mark my words,
The man approved his own worth.
Hand mirrors hurt
Your own self-import-ance,
Rob you of worth.
Offload your reputation onto a cell phone hearse,
Tell all your friends that you dream about the second verse.
But pointing fingers burst
Like malignancy inside, it’s insanity at work.

Leave a Reply

