Leroy lost his life,
He says so on my cigarette box,
I wonder if our strife,
If our chasing, chaining thoughts,
I wonder if it’s right.
I wonder if we waste our time a lot.
I wonder maybe Christ,
Maybe Jesus already walked this walk
So we could take our time
And avoid the panic, anxiety bawl.
I feel this all the time,
I punched myself in the face to cope.
It didn’t help and now I cry
Until my eyes burn and I feel out of hope,
But I don’t need to know why.
I don’t know enough to act like I’m out of rope.
I can take my pride,
I can feed it to the crocodiles,
I can bide my time,
I can wait until it’s mine.
I can take my pride.
I can feed it to the crocodiles,
I can bide my time,
I can wait until it’s mine.
I can reinterpret life
Through the eyes of Jesus Christ.

I’m trading my hate.
Replacing my gait,
Full-facing my state,
I’m embroiled in faith.
Every single day I say,
“God, I need Your help today.”
I’m full-fledged, God stayed,
Made me a super safe place.
My brain feels unsafe like I fail
Every thought, but Jesus prevails.
He fulfills my heart anyway.
Lets me enjoy, partake and pray.

I wanna be more than a warning,
Cautionary tale, take a microwave, warm it,
Serve it on a plate to warriors,
Sell agendas to the well-appointed torches,
“Use this filter,” it’ll bring more in,
I’m exhausted from holding back everything.
But I don’t want to cause pain,
Never ever wanna make my mother cry again.
I know that’s insane,
Not pretending I’m not impossible but faith…
It’s faith, I promise it’s faith,
I won’t pretend I’m in the top 100 list,
I won’t present myself like a vocal terrorist.
I’m feeling old and I’m only twenty-eight.
My hips keeps falling out, autocorrect says I’m fake,
Take it all in stride, but I think I’m losing pace.
I can’t keep up with the crowds, they overwhelm my space.
My voicemail message doesn’t say, but I was watching while it rang,

I’m trading my hate.
Replacing my gait,
Full-facing my state,
I’m embroiled in faith.
Every single day I say,
“God, I need Your help today.”
I’m full-fledged, God stayed,
Made me a super safe place.
My brain feels unsafe like I fail
Every thought, but Jesus prevails.
He fulfills my heart anyway.
Lets me enjoy, partake and pray.
There’s an oak tree in my eye, where’s the wood chipper prescription?
I write poetry so I can change my own perception.
I hope you can take this at your own discretion,
Because I’m older now than yesterday’s intention.
Let go of the past, hold on to what’s impending,
Take my lovely for a walk down in the river valley.
Warning label made me fake until I forgot what I need,
Happiness became what I have not what I can be,
I hope this is over now, I do not want defeat.
Plant a grapevine, make it wind around the stoplight in the street,
I will overthrow what attempts to take my seat,
Today is dedicated to the Father of Mercy,
I’m not so afraid anymore and I can see peace
Just up ahead, yeah, I know it’s there for me.
So why would I distract myself by writing poetry?
I can use these hammer blows to remind myself: “Believe.”
It’s okay to struggle for the good you feel is needed,
Patience can produce a satisfying ending.
And you could feel the same amount of pain without relief.
It’s not like other planets are already full of green.

Leave a Reply

