Saving Face

There’s a man who shaved and then went back to bed,
Set to set the table, but didn’t make it there.
Sleepy eyes can’t see what’s ahead,
Maybe tomorrow can sing a happy song instead.

Chin up, today’s your day anyway,
Swing hope​ ’round your shoulders, let it stay,
That pillow won’t be colder on the other side,
Seven seconds, flip it over, out of bed and pray,
If there was a better way, if there was a better way,
We can wait until it’s set in better light today,
We can take it step by step instead of saving face.

Climate change took the Doomsday Vault,
I make strange-sounding music for my stock,
Apothecary stand, make selections that just talk,
I can barely stand, but I really want to walk.
I’ve been made for more than hanging on,
Rubbermaid containers full of dusty thoughts.
Keep them in the attic with fifty-eight old trunks,
I could imitate what you like but I feel stuck.

Chin up, today’s your day anyway,
Swing hope​ ’round your shoulders, let it stay,
That pillow won’t be colder on the other side,
Seven seconds, flip it over, out of bed and pray,
If there was a better way, if there was a better way,
We can wait until it’s set in better light today,
We can take it step by step instead of saving face.

If we can forget the past–
And that’s harder than anything–
If we can just leave it where it is,
We can have tomorrows that owe us nothing.
We can face today without regret,
We can chase what’s really worth cherishing,
We can find what’s true at last
If we can just forget the past.
Overcomer’s dash;
No rubbernecking back.
Hurdles prevent whiplash
And scars are kinda cool if they’re bad.
Overcomer’s dash.
Feel the thunder crash,
Overwhelming beats blast back,
Couldn’t find the peace that I lack
Until I said “Screw it,” and I gave it all back.
What the heck? Guess I’m at bat.
Maybe there’s a proxy flask.
I can’t translate for the mad,
The interrogant, and crass,
Oxford commas make a pass,
But you can’t hear that in my raps.

Chin up, today’s your day anyway,
Swing hope​ ’round your shoulders, let it stay,
That pillow won’t be colder on the other side,
Seven seconds, flip it over, out of bed and pray,
If there was a better way, if there was a better way,
We can wait until it’s set in better light today,
We can take it step by step instead of saving face.

I don’t have to punish myself,
I don’t have to punish myself
I don’t have to punish myself.
I am forgiven,
I am forgiven.
Let me act forgiven,
Let me stand for seven,
Let me get up eight,
Let me skip the nines,
The tens, the trending viral crimes,
If there is a third that I can find,
I don’t want to pantomime.
Set aflame to designer jeans of mine,
Inherited a flawed, but cool gene line.
Let’s go intercept what is trying to imply
We can’t chase what’s good because of what’s stuck in our eyes,
Glad it’s been forgiven, I’ll do anything for Jesus Christ

Chin up, today’s your day anyway,
Swing hope​ ’round your shoulders, let it stay,
That pillow won’t be colder on the other side,
Seven seconds, flip it over, out of bed and pray,
If there was a better way, if there was a better way,
We can wait until it’s set in better light today,
We can take it step by step instead of saving face.

Leave a Reply

