Violins

There’s a rich man
Who never quits helping out.
There’s a poor man
Who knows he has it all.
Neither has eyes on the past
Or demands his own behalf.
The rest of us will laugh,
But they’re just always glad.

There’s a place for the smiling,
For the junky and the violent.
There’s a home for the strong man,
There’s a fireplace with vines on it.
There’s a groundhog who’s a weatherman,
There’s a rabbit who hides eggs in sand.
There’s a man with lists of Naughty and Nice,
There’s a patriot without a flag in hand.
There’s a homeless man who knows he has it all,
And there’s a garden some place quiet.
But there’s a few who would give anything
Just to sit down where the noise can’t get in,
Who would run from you just to find a thought again,
Who can’t accomplish as much
Or acquire half enough.
Vagabond, outcast, misfit, we ask their names,
So maybe this time when we run away we’ll pray.

There’s a rich man
Who never quits helping out.
There’s a poor man
Who knows he has it all.
Neither has eyes on the past
Or demands his own behalf.
The rest of us will laugh,
But they’re just always glad.

Quiet monologue with an echo,
Tell ’em something sweet and soft,
Get ’em going with the violins,
Put a marker where it stopped,
Best to get what’s getting gotten next.
Guess I stepped in something way too wet.
Maybe I could win the Vegas bet,
Constipation of my soul, repent.
Kick at my restraints but I guess I’m spent.
Wanting, waiting, hoping, chasing, nothing ends me in your rest,
Advise my vice, advisors, but my resumé’s on the Internet.
I’ll work on my smiles, but who the hell said I pretend?
I can’t get my head out of the sand
Out of the grass,
The empty pane of glass,
Just memorize the past,
Watch it fade and become false.
Terrifying death impulse
Just distracts me from the gulp.
Why’d we burn everything up?
Where’s the mountain-framed sunset?
Does it rise where smoke obstructs?
Are we still patient enough?
Where’s the labour for our love?
I am not here for so long.
Compromise so right is wrong…
Then we turn and blame our God
Like He can’t see just what we want,
Like He won’t give exactly that.
Fell away? You don’t know squat.

There’s a rich man
Who never quits helping out.
There’s a poor man
Who knows he has it all.
Neither has eyes on the past
Or demands his own behalf.
The rest of us will laugh,
But they’re just always glad.

Leave a Reply

