Polaris

Once upon a time,
I lost hope in myself,
Faith in faith couldn’t tell
When trumpets played inside so loud.
That is how I thought then;
This is how I think now.
Tomorrow might be far away,
But yesterday is gone.

I wonder if Polaris knows
We just call her the “North Star.”
Burning ball of nuclear storm,
Bet she thinks she’s got it all.
I wonder if she hopes for more,
Because, from here it’s just a spark.
Big and bright, but further flung,
Location overshadows dark.

Seeds die for trees to grow,
And tears fall to water your soul,
The years might last too long for you,
But that’s okay, the next one’s new.
Tomorrow morning might feel due,
But down the road, you’ll see what’s true,
Hindsight helps us not to brood,
But keeping time distracts the youth.

I wonder if Polaris knows
We just call her the “North Star.”
Burning ball of nuclear storm,
Bet she thinks she’s got it all.
I wonder if she hopes for more,
Because, from here it’s just a spark.
Big and bright, but further flung,
Location overshadows dark.

Tattoo what I do onto my eyes,
Back of outsides, my eyelids so I
Stand apart, untied,
Yellow in my
Mellow, yet perturbulent insides.
Stormy seas, I try
But I’m navigationally dry,
I squint to see through fog but cry,
Tears in my eyes, guess I can’t find
The best path after all, oh my.
Must be where I am that’s fine,
Glad I have my Saviour’s mind.

I wonder if Polaris knows
We just call her the “North Star.”
Burning ball of nuclear storm,
Bet she thinks she’s got it all.
I wonder if she hopes for more,
Because, from here it’s just a spark.
Big and bright, but further flung,
Location overshadows dark.

Leave a Reply

