Rhythm

Every drumbeat needs a rhythm,
Every life requires a pattern,
Follow one, two make schisms,
Distractions keep asking​, “What happened?”
We don’t negotiate with terrorism,
My inside man tells me his back hurts,
But I know I’ll be fine in heaven.

Try not to make a mistake,
Leave the rest in,
Helplessness gets diagnosed as hate.
Interesting.
I can’t act perfect, that’s fake.
I’m overscrutinizing,
Telephone my vision, tap glass ’til it breaks,
Align with the right thing.
Prescriptionize my misinformative brain,
But pendulums swing.

Every drumbeat needs a rhythm,
Every life requires a pattern,
Follow one, two make schisms,
Distractions keep asking​, “What happened?”
We don’t negotiate with terrorism,
My inside man tells me his back hurts,
But I know I’ll be fine in heaven.

Ham sandwiches​ under corduroy pants,
Guess I’m feeling itchy,
There’s a peanut butter jam
In my pocket, itty bitty
Like a little diddy that I’m singing all the time.
The Sandman doesn’t stand
When the rain is filling ditches,
Guess tomorrow’s lost its stitches,
Ampersands understand there’s a lot to lose at hand,
If we’re feeling like we’re sickly, maybe best to state we’re prickly,
Can’t hide under bland imitation Dollarama plants.

Every drumbeat needs a rhythm,
Every life requires a pattern,
Follow one, two make schisms,
Distractions keep asking​, “What happened?”
We don’t negotiate with terrorism,
My inside man tells me his back hurts,
But I know I’ll be fine in heaven.

Guess we dissipate in slow-motion,
20,000 frames per second, change direction,
Got a bunch of dandelions and I’m feeling imperceptive,
Holding my lamp high, but I’m chasing my reflection,
Guess a Mennonite can’t dance with the privacy detectives,
Hammering these cast pans,
Interfering with my stilted lectures.

Every drumbeat needs a rhythm,
Every life requires a pattern,
Follow one, two make schisms,
Distractions keep asking​, “What happened?”
We don’t negotiate with terrorism,
My inside man tells me his back hurts,
But I know I’ll be fine in heaven.

Leave a Reply

