Step Back

I see the people pass me by,
And I ask myself a question why.
Do they fade so deep inside
In the same desperate way that I
Embrace the futility of a directionless life?
Or can we never see eye to eye?
This song is not close to being sly.
Even though the way I act is shy.
I keep my head down when I am outside,
Only look up if you ask for help or a fight.
But falling through can’t be all mine.
My soul inside is growing in Christ.
I feel often like I lie
But Jesus does not deny.

I just gotta step back,
Take it down a little bit,
Not sure what to do next,
But I’ve been pushing too hard
And I gotta take a step back.

Narcissism has my number,
Keep on calling it up,
You might get my voicemail thunder.
I apologize for my attitude and stuff,
But wrenches in my gears are malicious as they’re unfair,
Plus they’re inaccurate as guns,
And to bring about what’s irritating causes hopeful minds to stumble.
I guess I’ve had enough.

I just gotta step back,
Take it down a little bit,
Not sure what to do next,
But I’ve been pushing too hard
And I gotta take a step back.

Insane, I dance on top
Of this box,
I’ll detox,
Fix my thoughts,
Scatter termite dens to dust,
I’ll stand for want
Of hope and love,
Forgive the ones
Who mess up my run,
Throw grease on my rungs,
Call police when I’m bummed.
I am not overrun,
Neither am I undone,
Jesus once forever won,
Shared up the life of God’s own Son.

I just wanna step back,
Slow it down a little bit,
Not sure what I’ll do next,
But I’ve been hoping for my Lord
To restore me from my lack,
But I would rather stay and rap
And see Jesus win us back.

Leave a Reply

