Partake

I’m trading my hate.
Replacing my gait,
Full-facing my state,
I’m embroiled in faith.
Every single day I say,
“God, I need Your help today.”
I’m full-fledged, God stayed,
Made me a super safe place.
My brain feels unsafe like I fail
Every thought, but Jesus prevails.
He fulfills my heart anyway.
Lets me enjoy, partake and pray.

Like a piece of paper,
Crumpled over and over,
Our lives get trampled, broken,
Until it’s fabric, softly spoken,
Not offended by the golden
Filigree, this clay gets softened,
Feels like a never-ending search for Boston,
But in the end, it’s Augustana’s​ courage,
Let your heart get broken for faith,
Maybe get crushed, but we’re on the way.
Comfort promises but can’t sustain,
Peace inside won’t burn with pain.
Telling the truth doesn’t help me pray,
But turning aside from my past can’t belay,

I tried that and I ended enraged,
Wish I hadn’t done that, but Messiah saved a place,
Think that now I’m settled into walking day by day,
But that’s dependent on what God Almighty says,
I’m not interrogant, I think I just fade a little bit
When I feel like I’ve misplaced my inside man cannot dance.

I’m trading my hate.
Replacing my gait,
Full-facing my state,
I’m embroiled in faith.
Every single day I say,
“God, I need Your help today.”
I’m full-fledged, God stayed,
Made me a super safe place.
My brain feels unsafe like I fail
Every thought, but Jesus prevails.
He fulfills my heart anyway.
Lets me enjoy, partake and pray.

Singsong, singalongs, lemme tell you ’bout a God
Who knows more about good than we ever knew we could,
Does not bat an eye at the evil in us,
He’s the Maker of love, sent Messiah from above
So that we could overcome,
And stop running from His love.
Set up an open door, Jesus cares way more
About our pain than we’ll ever understand.

I’m trading my hate.
Replacing my gait,
Full-facing my state,
I’m embroiled in faith.
Every single day I say,
“God, I need Your help today.”
I’m full-fledged, God stayed,
Made me a super safe place.
My brain feels unsafe like I fail
Every thought, but Jesus prevails.
He fulfills my heart anyway.
Lets me enjoy, partake and pray.

Leave a Reply

