Sparks

Painting slick lines
With no hint of a rewind,
I’m just taking my time,
Sniffin’ roses like time’s belated, sublime,
Quippin’ like Moses ’cause I just can’t quit these rhymes,
Let me go dig for hope, bring you what I find.
You can trust me on this, I will share good if it’s mine.
Only one thing I’m real sure of: God is on my side.

My proficiency
Is not my sufficiency,
More like my deficiency,
I cannot ask you to see
Eye to eye with all my needs,
That’s a ridiculously
Exaggerated parade malady.
Stand aside, I’ll see,
I’m a potted plant, I’m greed,
If you can sustain nutritionally,
I need water, food, sunlight photosynthesis indeed,
Aha Gazelle might have taught me something neat,
I listened up, cleaned my ears out, kicked the grief,
Locked it in a closet, jettisoned​ it somewhere east.
Mars is ahead, but it’s overgrown in cheese,
I don’t need my eyes on it, janky with anxiety,
Think my trajectory might encourage more to see.
The sun keeps rising anyway, kicking up my feet.
Guess I’m packing it away, didn’t need defeat,
I can worship Who I pray to, that’s not empty poetry,
There is only One who died in my place to set me free.
There is only One Name under heaven to believe,
Only One to call on when we stumble under fear.
Jesus Christ is offering us everlasting peace.
Father God Almighty doesn’t deter from relief.

Painting slick lines
With no hint of a rewind,
I’m just taking my time,
Sniffin’ roses like time’s belated, sublime,
Quippin’ like Moses ’cause I just can’t quit these rhymes,
Let me go dig for hope, bring you what I find.
You can trust me on this, I will share good if it’s mine.
Only one thing I’m real sure of: God is on my side.

I get upset.
Anger in my head,
It didn’t happen yet,
But imagination says,
“This is reality, oh yes,”
But I have to confess,
I’m the source of my own mess,
Insanity dance to dust,
I am growing in trust,
In my mind there’s lust,
I’m always hurt for meds,
More than that too, but
I’m not borrowing this love.
And pain gets to fade, we’re safe above.
God has never failed, we get brand new lives.
Losing what we have is just the next thing arrived,
Taking what we have and we offer it alive,
Teeny, tiny offerings, like sparks flung from a fire.
Constantly amazes me He’d even spare the time,
What do we ever do except fail to follow Christ?

Painting slick lines
With no hint of a rewind,
I’m just taking my time,
Sniffin’ roses like time’s belated, sublime,
Quippin’ like Moses ’cause I just can’t quit these rhymes,
Let me go dig for hope, bring you what I find.
You can trust me on this, I will share good if it’s mine.
Only one thing I’m real sure of: God is on my side.

Leave a Reply

