Scrutiny

I’ve been doing my own thing lately,
Yeah, with Jesus on my side,
I’m facin’ it,
He’s with me and
I’m facin’ it.
But my mind is in a mutiny.
My motivation can’t survive the scrutiny.
But I’m facin’ it.

I’m facin’ it.

Take a step back and​ listen,
I’m on tap but I taste like medicine,
Bored but I’m not inconsistent,
Every day it’s like I’m walking chains off in inches,
But that’s ambitious,
I am incoherently suspicious,
Can I do your dishes?
I’m not here to repaint fences.
Guess it’s spindles and fingers,
I’m just waiting so I can pull out the splinters,
Music box, I’ll dance repentant,
Face the mirror I’ve been given,
See what’s waiting there in heaven,
Things I long for, I’ve inherited,
Jesus told me He had spared me.
Settled​ down, but it’s peace I carry,
Stipulated frowns when I was ferried,
River Styx looked all kinds a scary,
But Saviour found me kicking berries
Into a puddle, terrified that lies were all I need,
I don’t know how free He set me,
But I know tomorrow I will be
Closer to Him than today can believe,
Unfolding like a Star Wars title screen,
I’m just skipping carefree,
Down these lanes, beside these streams,
I have to admit I didn’t put myself here,
Gepetto can vouch, I am not a puppeteer.
Imaginary friends might spend more time with me,
But I am not friends with my grief,
Tears can end with a promise of cheer,
Guess it’s not always easy to hear.

I’ve been doing my own thing lately,
Yeah, with Jesus on my side,
I’m facin’ it,
He’s with me and
I’m facin’ it.
And now my mind is in a mutiny.
My motivation can’t survive the scrutiny.
But I’ll face it.

I’m facin’ it.

I stomp on thoughts like I’m crushing cans,
Godzilla massacre the crispy edge of plans,
Cannot abide the thought I have it in my hands,
Kick, scream, cry and shout, Messiah, help me stand.
There’s hope beyond the waves, we’ll make it if we can.
Parasailing on the way, sightseeing​ with Batman.

I’ve been doing my own thing lately,
Yeah, with Jesus on my side,
I’m facin’ it,
He’s with me and
I’m facin’ it.
And now my mind is in a mutiny.
My motivation can’t survive the scrutiny.

The wolf can whisper lies,
Like karagana vines,
With cucumber insides,
And raspberries for eyes.
Prairie chickens​ hide
Back behind the rhubarb pie,
Burrs and thistles stick to thighs,
Even denim can’t deny,
Mario’s Nintendo’s fried,
But he’s too busy chasing brides.

I’ve been doing my own thing lately,
Yeah, with Jesus on my side,
I’m facin’ it,
He’s with me and
I’m facin’ it.
And now my mind is in a mutiny.
My motivation can’t survive the scrutiny.

Leave a Reply

