Obtrusive

I hear you groan as you walk by,
Angry voice that cannot hide
The pain you have in your insides.
Please stop walking for a while,
I can’t help you dress in style.
But if you turn around and find
I can see that you are crying,
Please don’t think that I could mind,
I know just what this feels like.
And I just wish your pain was mine.

I don’t write music
Just to be abusive,
I try not to be obtrusive,
But I think like I can’t do this
By myself, and I can’t prove it,
Maybe I’ll put aside the brooding.
Cancel all my calendar date doodling,
Redistribute priorities, inside man renewing.
God came through, it’s what I hoped, I knew it!

Where is my crew?
Don’t I need people too?
Is everybody cruel?
I don’t know what to do.
With being somebody else I’m through,
But that’s not good enough for you.
I’m as messed up as Bartholomew,
But I’m still not good enough for you.

I don’t write music
Just to be abusive,
I try not to be obtrusive,
But I think like I can’t do this
By myself, and I can’t prove it,
Maybe I’ll put aside the brooding.
Cancel all my calendar date doodling,
Redistribute priorities, inside man renewing.
God came through, it’s what I hoped, I knew it!

Maybe I come across as dubious,
Mennonite, I’ve been trained up like I’m studious,
Build me way on up, I tremble like Vesuvius,
Help me find a way out, I won’t run along with who we with,
We focus homeward and we gently tend this stewardship,
Making more than molehills clear out from what we’re doing here.

I don’t write music
Just to be abusive,
I try not to be obtrusive,
But I think like I can’t do this
By myself, and I can’t prove it,
Maybe I’ll put aside the brooding.
Cancel all my calendar date doodling,
Redistribute priorities, inside man renewing.
God came through, it’s what I hoped, I knew it!

Leave a Reply

