Entitlement

Why’d we get taught to be happy?
Fake our greetings when we feel crappy,
Pretend feelings like unsteady fingers tapping,
Respect me, or I’m gonna keep a tally.
If you can’t say what’s nice, why bother to advise me?
Painful self-entitlement reidentified as need,
Don’t trigger me, I just swept the whole abbey.
Pacing back and forth while I’m smoking on the balcony.

Guess these rights keep setting me right.
Effortless fight to keep away from light.
But I can’t empathize with the foggy city nights,
I think I’ve realized I’m indebted to edify,
Actualized my indemnity, surprise,
Call me up an ambulance, I’ve got Boreal Forest eyes.

It seems wrong to sell trinkets
To people without help while we picket
For more appetite and less of defending
The sad and the lonely and the down-and-out rejected,
Like everybody just became Mr. Inspector Detective,
Instead of being real, we let our intentions
Get traded out for less reputable mentions.
Aimed it really bad, but we promise sniper intervention.

Guess these rights keep setting me right.
Effortless fight to keep away from light.
But I can’t empathize with the foggy city nights,
I think I’ve realized I’m indebted to edify,
Actualized my indemnity, surprise,
Call me up an ambulance, I’ve got Boreal Forest eyes.

Na na
Na naa
Na na na na…

Guess these rights keep setting me right.
Effortless fight to keep away from light.
But I can’t empathize with the foggy city nights,
I think I’ve realized I’m indebted to edify,
Actualized my indemnity, surprise,
Call me up an ambulance, I’ve got Boreal Forest eyes.

I was down and out.
I couldn’t even pout.
Endless screaming shout,
So defeated, blown about,
But there’s hope in the growth,
Unfolding before,
I’ll call my Lord,
To Jesus, I’ll turn.

Jesus Christ, keep setting me right.
Bless for this fight to keep me in the Light.
I can’t empathize with the foggy city nights,
But I think I’ve realized I’m indebted to Christ
Factual eyes are my indemnity, surprise,
Call me up an ambulance, it won’t catch me before the prize.

Leave a Reply

