Oh My Soul

Somewhere in a far away place,
Part of me sits where it’s safe,
Distant future is close today,
If I see, let it be by faith.

Take heart, my soul,
Oh let it go,
It’s far from now,
Yesterday is gone
As far as it can go.
Oh, let it go.
In time you’ll know,
But grace is here for hope.
Oh, oh, my soul.

Quiet is a medicating solace for myself,
I can take my time, enjoy that I’m a bell.
Strike a chord in me and I can show and tell.
But there’s a lot more to this life than staking out my wealth.
If I know what I am doing, then I feel compelled,
If there’s truth to find, you know I’ll wear the belt,
Skeletons​ make closet doors as thin as if they’ll melt.
But only time can make a scar, so leave your past behind.
If you discover Water, maybe tell them what you find.
Thirstiness causes fits, and it’s no more than yours​ or mine.

Take heart, my soul,
Oh let it go,
It’s far from now,
Yesterday is gone
As far as it can go.
Oh, let it go.
In time you’ll know,
But grace is here for hope.
Oh, oh, my soul.

It kinda scares me to speak out.
It’s really not my dream to live low
God knows everything I follow,
There’s no secret sin He doesn’t know.
So I do my best to be brave and not mope.
This is new, look at Him, not my walk.
But Israelites were told when to go,
To fight the cruel, to overcome with hope
In everlasting righteousness instead of old
Books and ancient hopelessness so cold.
So it’s better to let go
Of all the stuff you think you know.

Take heart, my soul,
Oh let it go,
It’s far from now,
Yesterday is gone
As far as it can go.
Oh, let it go.
In time you’ll know,
But grace is here for hope.
Oh, oh, my soul.

Leave a Reply

