Light Side

I wanna write 777 songs,
Times a thousand, let ’em be long,
Telling all about the goodness of my God,
Promises that He speaks are more true than what I want,
Or think I do, He’s more than anything I ever thought.
Lets me find the truth in Him though I’ve wandered a lot.

Left the light side of me in the past,
Thought to grow I should rehash
The worst things in my inside man,
But then I screamed and Jesus brought it back.

Kicking down the doors,
Leave them lying on the floor,
There’s an old man in the store,
And he keeps buying more and more.
I could tell he gets alongside poor
Men who don’t live behind chores,
Or implicate the less adored.
I could say, He reminds me of my Lord.

Left the light side of me in the past,
Thought to grow I should rehash
The worst things in my inside man,
But then I screamed and Jesus brought it back.

Got my boots in valley mud,
By the river, by the sludge,
Winter’s melting, March can trudge.
Saw a man asleep and drunk,
Water’s rising, tell the truth and run,
But I can’t deny that I am ever strong as him,
Maybe if he’s dying, I can sit, endure the rain,
But tell the poor that you are rich and watch it fade away.

Left the light side of me in the past,
Thought to grow I should rehash
The worst things in my inside man,
But then I screamed and Jesus brought it back.

Oh I’m so amazed,
I’ve been upended,
Software updated,
Soggy boots stayed and,
I’m filled with praises
For my Creator,
Showed me His patience,
Let me partake in
His holy presence,
Righteousness presents,
Giftwrapped with pleasure,
Love without measure,
Solomon treasures,
Heaven fruit-tasting,
Thanking my Saviour.

Left the light side of me in the past,
Thought to grow I should rehash
The worst things in my inside man,
But then I screamed and Jesus brought it back.

Spindle caught your finger,
Kinda hurts more than a splinter,
Dillinger’s got all the splendour,
But robbery is piled on tinder.
Split like the cream is worth more than the milk,
Build dreams on where you’ve been forgiven,
And take peace from Who’s seated in heaven.
Carry more than stained glass windows,
The cross on your back doesn’t sag in the summer.

Left the light side of me in the past,
Thought to grow I should rehash
The worst things in my inside man,
But then I screamed and Jesus brought it back.

Leave a Reply

