Burnt Mirror Pane

Shadow shapes,
Swiveled haste,
Scribbled rage,
Soliloquized days,
Scattered links of fallen chains,
Splashing ink across the page.
Skittering sentient rays
Oh, some day soon, I’ll praise.

I’ll put you on logs and set you aflame.
Push you out into the lake
Adrift you’ll shimmer in the haze.
I’m gonna watch your distant blaze,
Burning planks of driftwood raise
What’s left of you to sunset glaze.
Shivered timbers above mirrored panes.
Now you’re smoke, and I’m okay.

Days that end on time
Are worth a lot more than old wine.
Staying where you’re started finds
That growing up takes all your life
Tickety-tock, these gears unwind,
Turning clocks go ’round keeping time.
Stagger from this turnstile line,
Hold the door, I’m getting the lights.

I’ll put you on logs and set you aflame.
Push you out into the lake
Adrift you’ll shimmer in the haze.
I’m gonna watch your distant blaze,
Burning planks of driftwood raise
What’s left of you to sunset glaze.
Shivered timbers above the lake.
Now you’re smoke, and I’m okay.

There was a point to the brush,
Dedication might produce much,
But I have found that I can’t touch
The things I want with a seven-foot crutch.
No, I’m better off walking without
And suddenly finding that good just comes about.
Guess I’ll leave old desires in the mud.
Change is inevitable, but not too difficult.

I’ll put you on logs and set you aflame.
Push you out into the lake
Adrift you’ll shimmer in the haze.
I’m gonna watch your distant blaze,
Burning planks of driftwood raise
What’s left of you to sunset glaze.
Shivered timbers above the lake.
Now you’re smoke, and I’m okay.

There’s too much that’s gone
For me to stand well on my own.
I found out that I could hold
Maybe one thing if I stood
Really still, but the undercurrent stole
My footing, burnt my hands on the rope.
Now I’m just wondering if there’s one thing I won’t
Get wrong today, or tomorrow I’ll mope.

I’ll put you on logs and set you aflame.
Push you out into the lake
Adrift you’ll shimmer in the haze.
I’m gonna watch your distant blaze,
Burning planks of driftwood raise
What’s left of you to sunset glaze.
Shivered timbers above the lake.
Now you’re smoke, and I’m okay.

Since I asked Him, Jesus stayed.
Been thinking lately like I have no faith.
Maybe it’s more like my back hurts–I’m clay,
I am not here to argue, please don’t hesitate,
Dear Potter, let Your work be done today,
Just like tomorrow will, and yesterday.

I had a chat with the medicine man.
He thought to imply that I couldn’t stand
On my own without his helping hand.
I told him, “Back off, you assume that I can
Be less than when I am when I have help,
I’m not Somebody because of pain at all,
But it’s my Saviour Who heard me call.”
Medicine men don’t take that well.

I’ll put you on logs and set you aflame.
Push you out into the lake
Adrift you’ll shimmer in the haze.
I’m gonna watch your distant blaze,
Burning planks of driftwood raise
What’s left of you to sunset glaze.
Shivered timbers above the lake.
Now you’re smoke, and I’m okay.

Leave a Reply

