Put me on the back burner.
Keep the heat on low, turn it
So I keep a simmer going,
But put me on the back burner.
Oh yeah, keep me flowing,
Keep me close, Lord, not withholding
Your love from me, forgiveness is bestowed on
Me like a banner of love, You’re holy.

I boiled over.
Witnessed crime over shoulders,
Felt my mind growing colder,
Prayed for miracles, got scolded
By the voices in my head, but I’m older
Today than yesterday, life unfolds in
Baby steps, day by day, behold Him
Who lived and gave Himself for us, chosen.
The one Who gives us life ongoing.
Watch Him show you Who He is, like golden
Rays of light. Just behold Him.

Put me on the back burner.
Keep the heat on low, turn it
So I keep a simmer going,
But put me on the back burner.
Oh yeah, keep me flowing,
Keep me close, Lord, not withholding
Your love from me, forgiveness is bestowed on
Me like a banner of love, You’re holy.

Pistol whipped by what I didn’t have.
Skies of reflected shapes turned like violet in half.
Spectrumized, kaleidal cases of Mr. Dressup hats.
Scrutinized implications of what’s clinically dispatched.
Inspector Gadget spent a week in incoherent spats,
I guess I didn’t make it clear, I’ve had it with this math.

Put me on the back burner.
Keep the heat on low, turn it
So I keep a simmer going,
But put me on the back burner.
Oh yeah, keep me flowing,
Keep me close, Lord, not withholding
Your love from me, forgiveness is bestowed on
Me like a banner of love, ongoing.

Like a pilot light,
You don’t feel no fright.
And I don’t walk so right,
I’m like a child at night,
I’m a windy day for kites,
But you smooth my pelt of spikes.
You’re so gentle, you alight
On my branches, even when I’m wound tight.
Feeling so messed up in my head like I can’t write,
But when I’m silent, that’s when You fight.
Love is Who You are, this blood washed to white.

Put me on the back burner.
Keep the heat on low, turn it
So I keep a simmer going,
But put me on the back burner.
Oh yeah, keep me flowing,
Keep me close, Lord, not withholding
Your love from me, forgiveness is bestowed on
Me like a banner of love, ongoing.

Steady now,
Your restless prow
Cannot pick a wave to settle down.
Careful, scout,
There’s more to grace than what comes out.
It’s what stays deep inside that grows in drought.
It’s lessons learned by living life that teach you not to doubt.
Not to flout
Colourful coats,
You’ll piss off the goats,
They’ll chomp on your toes,
Beleaguere your hope,
Make you wish for dope.
Don’t piss off goats.

Put me on the back burner.
Keep the heat on low, turn it
So I keep a simmer going,
But put me on the back burner.
Oh yeah, keep me flowing,
Keep me close, Lord, not withholding
Your love from me, forgiveness is bestowed on
Me like a banner of love, I’m running!

Leave a Reply

