Knocking

Jesus knocked.
I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

/

It was just wallpaper.
I can trust my Saviour.
Maybe call me later,
I’m busy now, but all the best, berater.
I’ve come back from hatred,
Prehistoric in my head,
Crescent like the moon could end,
Send a message from stark filament
In ribbon-cloud skies in the night.
Light from cities smudge so bright
And underline drifting vapour strands like starlights can cry.

///

I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

/

Oh my.
Oh my.
I’m destined not to die.
Divestment of right minds,
Clarify my divergent eyes,
Disillusionment looks like pie,
But tastes like dying, turns like knives inside,
Cigarettes follow pride,
Consequently find
That brooding kills insides,
That hopelessness can lie,
That unfeeling spite takes bribes
But believing sets your mind.

///

I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

/

If wealth is what you can spend,
What you own and might defend,
Then isn’t it backward to pretend
Like chasing hope can’t make a dent?
Lord knows we all get distracted,
Even a young man sometimes feels spent,
But if you glimpse what’s heaven sent,
What looks just like peace and righteousness,
There’s less of hell and more of a rest,
Like God will walk with us through this.
Everything ends, even sin because of Him.
Hopelessness became empty vessels Jesus fills.
Promise it’s the guilt that keeps you from believing this.

///

I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

/

I remind myself
With as much of God’s help
As I’m sure of, I can tell
Everybody how I smell,
But I don’t find I do well
When I compare me to Adele,
It would benefit us all
Just to take today to heart.

///

I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

/

Penitentiary inside my mind,
Caged like a lion, circus tent beside my eyes,
Pulling for insanity, ropes made up of addled need,
Helpless to the madness, shake me by the knees,
Maybe something tasty, helpful, anything, will fall free from me.
Fatalistic attitude gives careening car spin dreams.
I can’t talk about my heart when my mind is critiqued.

///

I was stuck in my thoughts,
Focused on all my faults,
Staring disbelief, mistrust,
Forgiveness felt like fakery and gusts
Of wind took me far like dust.
Then Jesus knocked.

And I stopped.

Leave a Reply

