Evergreen

I wanna be evergreen.
Standing tall on roots so deep.
Like I can’t drop leaves
And I’m never left unseen.
Somebody catch a breeze
And send it on to me.
I wanna be evergreen,
Wanna be clothed righteously.

Evergreen.
Like a tree.
Seasons leave,
Pick up your peace,
Fruitless dreams
Become your grief.
Evergreen,
Your lofted beams
Covering
For shelter seek,
No wilder beasts
Will ever see,
But songbirds speak
From evergreens.

I wanna be evergreen.
Standing tall on roots so deep.
Like I can’t drop leaves
And I’m never left unseen.
Somebody catch a breeze
And send it on to me.
I wanna be evergreen,
Wanna be clothed righteously.

Fruit on my branches,
Take free second chances,
I’m skipping what’s backwards
And sowing in pastures.
Nobody runs faster
Than Jesus, our Master.
I’m loving this weather,
I’m coming untethered.
Gepetto’s unfettered
All the toys who want better.
So I’m writing letters
Into rhymes like they’re rolling papers.

I wanna be evergreen.
Standing tall on roots so deep.
Like I can’t drop leaves
And I’m never left unseen.
Somebody catch a breeze
And send it on to me.
I wanna be evergreen,
Wanna be clothed righteously.

Planted by a stream,
Enlisted to my King,
Standing on a dream
That was given us to sing.
Racked with what I’ve been,
God helps my listening.
Restores my broken knees
And sets me back with Him so free.

If it’s snowing all night,
Then I want the sunlight
To shine all the white
Up like a Lite-Brite,
Kaleidoscope my skies
When I’m waiting out my fright,
Soften edged shadows with a ray of moonlight.
Spell Your Name out in the clouds just in time tonight.

I wanna be evergreen.
Standing tall on roots so deep.
Like I can’t drop leaves
And I’m never left unseen.
Somebody catch a breeze
And send it on to me.
I wanna be evergreen,
Wanna be clothed righteously.

Leave a Reply

