Forward (Not “Score First”)

I’m gonna say this:
Everybody is a sinner and they wanna get away with it.
I can’t retain scripts,
But I know what lying does to our inner peace–does away with it.
If I have any love to skip
Like a rock over glass water, try and get a triple hit,
Then let me say this:
Jesus forgave you because it’s a big deal to Him.
I tried refraining,
But then I found everything I did turned to profanity.
So I keep saying:
Jesus died on the cross to take your sin and didn’t skip
A single thing.
So I’m not messing around when I say let’s worship Him.

Oh, I think we’re getting confused.
Rebels get covered, broken get abused.
Talkin’ ’bout forgiveness–oh we enthuse,
But when it comes right down to it, what do we do?
Tell them God won’t get mad, then break the weak in two.
Spend a weekend on a mat, now what’s that gonna do?

Distractions
Causing fractious factions, scary how it happens,
Refracted
Light could be getting through, tires desperately need traction
What happened?
Do we forgive or prescribe infraction?
Skipped backward,
Administer mercy with a password.
Harsh laughter
Can’t recreate quiet pastures.
Cigarette ash burns
Fingers that don’t remember past hurt,
Spaghetti with custard,
Can’t pretend it doesn’t taste like cuss words.

Oh, I think we’re getting confused.
Rebels get covered, broken get abused.
Talkin’ ’bout forgiveness–oh we enthuse,
But when it comes right down to it, what do we do?
Tell them God won’t get mad, then break the weak in two.
Spend a weekend on a mat, now what’s that gonna do?

Really, nobody tries,
Easier to lie down and exacerbate the lie.
Why do we cry?
Inevitable infidelity replaces faithful eyes.
Jesus Christ died
On the cross, rose again to life
Because He takes such pride
In helping us take hold and fight,
He died and set it right.
I wanna praise Him with everyone tonight.

Leave a Reply

