This Is What I’ll Do…

They say that I’m insane,
That my behaviour is profane,
You point the finger and say,
“This is because you always complain.”
I’m lonely because of the way that you play
At fixing my brokenness when I’m in your way,
But when I’m huddled and crying, where are you, hey?
The fingers you pointed became your own way.

So I can understand they hate it
When everybody acts so racist,
It’s not skin colour I’m facin’,
But it’s relatably depressing.

But I won’t start any movements,
No, I won’t spit on any tombstones,
And I won’t hit you for your rude tone,
I won’t take revenge on your group home.

This is what I’ll do…

I forgive you for hating me.
I don’t live through your berating sprees,
They kill me though I fall on my knees,
But I forgive you for hating me.

If I speak from my heart,
Then I’ve done my part.
No matter where you start,
We run toward a further mark,
And a day’s walk won’t get you far,
But grace is always enough, near or way off in the dark.

I get it, I hurt too,
Be honest, I’m just like you,
So why, pray, tell the truth,
Would I actively try to fail you?
Not gonna happen, brew.
No, this is what I’ll do…

I forgive you for hating me.
I don’t live through your berating sprees,
They kill me though I fall on my knees,
But I forgive you for hating me.

Leave a Reply

