Dude?

What are You like?
Are you like rain in the night?
Like morning dew in sunlight?
Is Your voice something I see with my sight?
Is Your presence like a smell that’s so nice?
Do the trees’ leaves fall before Your eyes?
Or are you hidden in quiet forest sighs?
Do You still walk in the cool and quiet?
Are there times when You’re easier to find?
Aren’t You with me, refreshing my mind?
Who is Your servant, but one who’s so blind?
I’m just a branch, Lord God You’re the vine,
I want to, I want to, learn how to abide.

I could be like the Dude,
If all my hope was in You,
I want to tell the truth,
I’m looking and searching for You.

What do You want?
Do You like my worship song?
Is it better for me to long
Than hear all about what’s wrong?
Can I give up my wants?
Dedicate this life to Your walk?
Do You want all my thoughts?
They’re confusing, and lots,
Is my trying to rest wrong?
I want to honour You, God…
Wish that I’d never fall,
But I can’t spent this all
Curled fetal in a little ball,
Help me, God? 
Please?

I could be like the Dude,
If all my hope was in You,
I want to tell the truth,
I’m looking and searching for You.

What do You see in me?
Honest, this is something I need,
I’m trying not to plead,
Trying real hard just to breathe,
Is it what I write in grief?
It can’t be what I think, that’s dreams,
Is it the way I love, God, I might scream,
Where did I go, which way did I careen?
What do You see in me?
I need this, God, honestly,
But I won’t demand You to speak,
And cannot tell You who’s weak,
I’m just tired of feeling fear,
I wanted it so gone this year,
But what did I sow, oh dear,
How do I undo this, it’s not clear!

I could be like the Dude,
If all my hope was in You,
I want to tell the truth,
I’m looking and searching for You.

I just need Your help, though,
I just need Your help, though…

Leave a Reply

