Legs

You rescued me,
You broke the prison bars and set me free,
You tore the guards in two and smashed my chains with glee,
You took the torture master for a ride on his own gurney,
You gave his imps a turn and churned them ’til they couldn’t bleed.

But when You turned to look at me,
You said, “Get up and go free!”
I looked right back at You and said, quaking with grief,
“THEY TOOK MY LEGS.” Horror quivers in the scream.
“THEY TOOK MY LEGS.” Horror quivers in the scream.

You rescued me, You set me free,
You rescued me, You set me free…

I’m bloody stumps and bleeding wounds,
I’ll fumbly stumble ’til I’m seething at the mouth,
But this can’t go on, it’s just month after month,
I’m leaving blood trails, they smell them and jump!

But when You turned to look at me,
You said, “Get up, dear one, go free!”
I looked right back at You and said, quaking with my grief,
“THEY TOOK MY LEGS.” Horror quivers in the scream,
“THEY TOOK MY LEGS.” Horror quivers in the scream.

I’m pleading for Your healing,
It’s bleeding to the ceiling,
I’m screaming for my skin to stop peeling,
I’ve lost feeling, except the pain that’s not receding.

But when You turned to look at me,
You said, “Get up, dear one, go free!”
I looked right back at You and said, quaking with relief,
“They took my legs,” horror quivered in between,
“They took my legs…” horror quivered in between.

Is their mercy for my terse mood, my bad knee?
May I please beg for You to intrude, I’m addled by need,
Can You forgive me for my selfish attitude? It’s all I plead,
Why can’t I let go of this endless platitude, it’s all I see.

But when You turned to look at me,
Your words were simple, “Get up and go free!”
I looked back at You and I said, shaking at the knees,
“Have you given me legs?” Hope was quivering with need,
“Have you given me legs?” Hope was quivering with need.

Leave a Reply

