Your Burden Is Light

I’ve been trying way too hard,
Weeding not just the garden but the yard,
Spending all my grief on what I’ve learned
When all I ever needed was Your love unearned.

Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light,
Your love amazes me, You’re burning so bright,
I just can’t believe that You are on my side,
My Saviour, my Jesus, Your love makes me cry.

I got caught up
In my wallowing at God,
I called God up,
To say I was insufficient in my thoughts,
Got all balled up,
To prove I couldn’t have Your love.

Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light,
Your love amazes me, You’re burning so bright,
I just can’t believe that You are on my side,
My Saviour, my Jesus, Your loves makes me cry.

And I’m scared, it’s true, 
I’m really really scared of You,
That I could dishonour You,
Misrepresent Your holy truth.

Wave so big you can’t see the top and bottom,
I’m somewhere a speck in the water, just bobbing,
When it overturns, I’m shrapnel, blood clotting,
Guess this is better if I just keep on walking.

Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light,
Your love amazes me, You’re burning so bright,
I just can’t believe that You are on my side,
My Saviour, my Jesus, Your love makes me cry.

And it’s not untrue that I’m broken and through,
But I’ve got the truth, ’cause He spoke to me through you,
And these tears I brew when I’m feeling like a bruise,
Better than these fears that I effuse, this anger too.

I’ve been getting through a bevy so heavy it’s unkept me,
Ev’ry morning, day and evenin’ve been like I’m getting ready,
And I don’t know, I’m not sure what my God sees, but He gets me,
Might as well let go of this unending spending on a negative ending.

Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light,
Your loves amaes me, You’re burning so bright,
I just can’t believe that You are on my side,
My Saviour, my Jesus, Your love makes me cry.

Leave a Reply

