Toy on a Shelf

Toy on the store shelf,
Standing all by myself,
Think I could use a little help,
Somebody bought everything else.

There may have been more like me,
But it looks less and less likely,
Guess I always kinda wanted to be free,
Like the empty echo that describes me.

I’m a toy on a shelf,
Just a toy on the shelf,
Standing all by myself,
Nobody can help.

Once, I felt so hopeful,
All these shelves full of the broken,
But before they were bought, they’d spoken,
“There’s no place for you where we’re goin’.”

I’m a toy on a shelf,
Just a toy on a shelf,
Standing all by myself,
Nobody will help.

This depression is hopeless,
My expression’s my hope test,
I always expected to one day get the best,
Now all I want is a little rest.

I’m a toy on a shelf,
Just a toy on a shelf,
Nobody will hep,
Standing all by myself.

Could You at least put a sale on me,
Can’t You please, mercy, avail me,
Half price, open box, little damnaged, You see,
Got a little secret for this sad spree.

God bought a toy off the shelf,
All by itself, nobody else would help,
Way overpriced, but He paid it by Himself,
Nobody else would help Him, so He chose me to be held.

I was a toy on a shelf,
Just a lonely toy on the shelf,
God said, “Boy, don’t worry yourself,
I paid this for you, so rejoice in My help.”

And I want to,
So I will,
And my God too,
It’s His will.

Leave a Reply

