You’ve Heard It All Before

This one’s for the broken,
For those like me, tokin’,
Popping pills, need medicine
Just to see the same way as everyone.
I’ve been mocked, belittled, put in a box,
My disorder is embarrassing to their talk,
They say anxiety’s a sin that I can’t block,
That I’m mentally okay and that I’m just eating chalk.

And I know you’ve heard it all before,
Yeah, I know you’ve heard it all before,
So, promise I won’t be a bore,
Yeah, you’ve heard it all before.

And I know that if you’re like me, you’ve heard it too,
You’re walking away, it went well, then it hits you,
Dopamine just sailed away, where’s my happiness gone to?
Oh oh, not again, this is the end, I look just like a fool.

And I know you’ve heard it all before,
Yeah, I know you’ve heard it all before,
So, promise I won’t be a bore,
Yeah, you’ve heard it all before.

I’ve been told that I should get to work,
Been told that like it couldn’t hurt,
Like my inability somehow defines my worth,
Guess you just convinced me, glad you found the words.

I’ve had fourteen jobs,
In less than ten years, always fought,
Trying my damnedest to hold it taught,
But it wouldn’t, it just fell apart,
So take and hide your vapid thoughts,
You do not know what this cost,
You do not know what this cost.

And I know you’ve heard it all before,
Yeah, I know you’ve heard it all before,
So, promise I won’t be a bore,
Because you’ve heard it all before,
Oh, don’t tell me I’m a bore,
I thought you’d heard it all before.

Leave a Reply

