Am I Welcome Here?

Am I welcome here?
Are you a place where I can belong?
Do I get to be me as more than you see?
Am I allowed to enthuse?

Perhaps my puffed up persona presided for pay.
Maybe my maniacal mannerisms made up for my malady.
Fervently I forfeited what fair favour Fortune funneled.
Alliterative but illiterate, altruistic but always encumbered.

Who am I allowed to be if I can’t be me?
To what do you respond if it isn’t who you see?
Yeah you go quiet every time I dare speak it,
The conversations die and somehow that makes me bleed.

Where did your love go?
I remember once.
Where did your love go?
I remember once.

Let’s talk, let’s have a conversation
Whoop, step waaay back, we have a confrontation!
Man, what are you hiding that makes everything garlic hot?
What’re you hiding? I’m inviting you in!

See, me, I’m an open book.
I’m a tree in blossom,
Displayed for you to look.
Oh flesh and blood, how deep you twist.

You can’t hide on an ice flow.
Man, everybody’s watching you go.
You shoved yourself out to sea,
And now you’re trying to be mad at me?

I’m just pining…

Where did your love go?
I remember once.
Where did your love go?
I remember once.

Leave a Reply

