Morning Coffee: Needles and Haystacks

coffeeBanner_1

So yeah, hi. Been awhile.

I took a few days off my regular person job to finish a few articles I have going, so I thought I’d also look for more. You know, so I can stop working the regular person job.

It turns out (and this is not surprising, but it “turns out” anyway, so deal with it) that finding regular work as a freelance writer is a bit like trying to find sand in a pile of dirt. It’s there for the taking, but it’s often impossible to differentiate between the good and the bad.

I recently came across a tech blog that was looking for writers. I won’t name names because that would be silly and it isn’t the point, but their articles were mostly just summaries of press releases. Which is fine. The blog looked like it got a good number of views and comments, so I thought I’d give it a shot. What I got in return was a little surprising.

In short, I got offered $150 to $250 for a minimum of 17 articles per week. The offer promised each article would take one hour to write, but I’ve done this enough times to know that would be a best case scenario. However, if we assume it would take one hour to write an article like that, I’d be working 17 hours per week, which could, yes, be done in two days, for up to $250 per month. That’s around $58 for two full workdays. And that’s the best case scenario.

But it doesn’t stop there. No, after watching those numbers get flung at me, I was told that all of this glorious pay would only take hold after I had proven myself. So now I’m being told that I get to work for free with $29 per day to look forward to.

not sure if stupid

not sure if stupid

For the record, when a job offer ends with, “some of our writers make up to $350 a month,” run. Just run. Your most generously compensated contributors make less than they would flipping burgers, and probably work close to fulltime doing only that? For what? A resume?

If you’re worth hiring, you’re worth paying. Simple as that. It shouldn’t be complicated.

John Scalzi had something to say about this as well.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

