Morning Coffee: Video Games Will Kill You

gty_coffee_heart_health_dm_120626_wg

At least, according to US Senator Lamar Alexander they will. In a conversation with NBC News’ Chuck Todd yesterday, Alexander spouted some half-conceived gibberish about video games and their relation (presumably) to guns and gun violence in particular.

In his words: “I think video games is a bigger problem than guns, because video games affect people. But the First Amendment limits what we can do about video games and the Second Amendment to the Constitution limits what we can do about guns.”

Because video games affect people…

I’d like to take a moment here to compare something for you, if I may. This is a popular video game:

halo 4

And this is a popular gun:

m1911

One of these items encourages people to spend hours on their couch. I’ll leave it to you to figure out which one it is. Here’s a hint: it’s not the one that turns mothers into widows.

I’m not usually an anti-gun advocate. I love target shooting and wouldn’t mind getting my firearms license at some point in the future. But arguments like these are almost enough to change my mind entirely.

Because, at this point, if I see one more stupid person spouting off like this on TV, I might just play me some Halo 4…

but for vg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Morning Coffee: Video Games Will Kill You

  1. DavidW says:

    I miss playing Halo….

  2. jjoelw says:

    Me too! I think I know what to do tomorrow.

  3. I simply want to say I am very new to weblog and certainly enjoyed this web site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with perfect stories. Regards for sharing with us your website page.

Leave a Reply

